Understanding the Earth with Satellite Images – Application of Modern Satellite Technology for Earth Observation for Adolescents (Space4Geography)

Dr. Nils Wolf, Vera Fuchsgruber, M. Sc., Guido Riembauer, M. Sc., Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund

 

Remote sensing methods are represented in National Educational Standards, as well as in a large share of  the state curricula and school books. Nevertheless, the implementation in school lessons is still hesitant. This is usually justified with the complexity of satellite image analysis, which may cause high costs in terms of time and organizational effort when using satellite images. Against this background, a web-based learning platform for the application in geography lessons is developed.

Ten learning modules are provided on the platform “Space4Geography”. These give them an understanding of the potential of remote sensing by allowing students to answer geographic questions. Additionally, student competencies in analyzing satellite images are improved. The regions and topics covered by the learning modules are chosen based on a nationwide analysis of curricula.

Using computers or tablets, students work with RapidEye and TerraSAR-X satellite imagery to answer geographic questions. The image processing steps are performed in the web-based remote sensing software BLIF. Implemented as an adaptive learning environment, the platform supports individual learning paths by adjusting content and difficulties to the individual abilities and needs of the students.

A dissertation is embedded into the project:

 

space4geography

Prototypical front page of the platform


Project start: 2013

The project is supported by the German Aerospace Center (DLR) with funds of the federal ministry for economy and technology.

 

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Contact | Directions | Networks | News | Imprint

Die Erde verstehen lernen – Einsatz moderner Satellitenbildtechnologie zur Erdbeobachtung für Jugendliche (Space4Geography)

Dr. Nils Wolf, Vera Fuchsgruber, M. Sc., Guido Riembauer, M. Sc., Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund

 

Fernerkundungsmethoden sind für das Fach Geographie heute in den Nationalen Bildungsstandards sowie einem großen Teil der Bildungspläne und Schulbücher verankert. Die Integration in den Unterricht findet jedoch nur zögerlich statt, was meist mit der Komplexität und einem damit einhergehenden hohen Organisations- und Zeitaufwand beim Einsatz der digitalen Satellitenbildauswertung begründet wird. Vor diesem Hintergrund wird eine webbasierte Lernplattform für den Einsatz im Geographieunterricht entwickelt.

Auf der Plattform "Space4Geography" werden zehn Lernmodule angeboten, mit denen Jugendlichen über die Beantwortung umwelt- und raumrelevanter Fragestellungen das Potenzial der Fernerkundung näher gebracht wird. Dabei werden Kompetenzen in der Nutzung von Satellitenbildern gefördert. Die Themen- und Raumbeispiele werden auf Basis einer bundesweiten Bildungsplananalyse ausgewählt.

Mit Computern oder Tablets bearbeiten Schüler/innen unter Verwendung RapidEye- und TerraSAR-X- Satellitenbildern geographische Fragestellungen. Die Grundlage zur Verarbeitung und Analyse der Satellitenbilder durch die Schüler/innen bildet die webbasierte Fernerkundungssoftware BLIF. Eine adaptive Umsetzung der Plattform unterstützt individuelles Lernen, indem Inhalt und Schwierigkeitsgrad individuell an die Fähigkeiten und Bedürfnisse des Lerners angepasst werden.

In das Projekt ist eine Dissertation eingebunden:

space4geography

Prototypische Startseite der Lernplattform

 

Projektbeginn: 2013

Das Projekt wird vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie gefördert.

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Kontakt | Anfahrt | Netzwerke | News | Impressum | Intern