UNESCO world heritage education

Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund & rgeo-Team
 

The main concern of the World Heritage program, initiated by UNESCO 1972, is using selected natural and cultural world heritage sites with "outstanding universal value" so sustainably that they remain preserved as authentic and integer as possible for future generations. Both the monitoring of the integrity of the World Heritage Sites and raising awareness for their special and unique value for mankind are of central importance.

For this, the various fields of competence of the Research Group for Earth Observation (rgeo) in the field of remote sensing, GIS, and laboratory-supported environmental monitoring (Observation) are linked with conveying the insights to adolescents, multipliers and the public (Education). Doing this, the use of modern geo-technologies is systematically expanded to documenting, monitoring and visualizing World Heritage Sites. The generated data is also provided to local actors on site in terms of capacity building. In addition to the Middle Rhine Valley in Germany, World Heritage Sites in Chile, Mexico and Vietnam are partners for the implementation and testing of relevant concepts and methods.

In this context, the Research Group for Earth Observation (rgeo) is co-founder of the annual meetings of the interdisciplinary working group "World Heritage Education (WHE)". Representatives from science, administration and school are presenting and discussing their present concepts of a World Heritage Education. Moreover, several theses and even a dissertation have investigated this educational function of WHE.

 

Project start: 2007

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Contact | Directions | Networks | News | Imprint

UNESCO Welterbe erkunden und erklären

Integrativer Einsatz moderner Fernerkundungs- und Labormethoden zum nachhaltigen Schutz und zur Vermittlung von Welterbestätten & Biospärenreservaten

Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund & rgeo-Team

 

Das zentrale Anliegen des 1972 initiiertes Welterbeprogramms der UNESCO besteht darin, den „outstanding universal value“ ausgewählter Weltnatur- und Weltkulturerbestätten so nachhaltig zu nutzen, dass sie auch für künftige Generationen so authentisch und integer wie möglich erhalten werden. Ähnliche Ziele einer nachhaltigen Nutzung verfolgt u.a. auch das Man and Biosphere Programm der UNESCO mit ihren Biosphärenreservaten. Dabei kommt sowohl der Überwachung der Unversehrtheit der Welterbestätten als auch der Vermittlung ihres besonderen und einzigartigen Wertes für die Menschheit eine zentrale Bedeutung zu.

Zur Förderung dieser UNESCO-Stätten werden die verschiedenen Kompetenzfelder der Research Group for Earth Observation (rgeo) im Bereich der Fernerkundungs-, GIS- und Labor-gestützen Umweltbeobachtung (Observation) mit der Vermittlung entsprechender Erkenntnisse an Jugendliche, Multiplikatoren und Öffentlichkeit (Education) verknüpft. Auf diese Weise finden moderne Geotechnologien systematisch Eingang in Dokumentation, Monitoring und Visualisierung von Welterbestätten, die im Sinne des Capacity Building auch lokalen Akteuren vor Ort zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Neben dem Mittelrheintal in Deutschland zählen Welterbetätten in Chile, Mexiko und Vietnam zu den konkreten Partnern zur Umsetzung und Erprobung entsprechender Konzepte und Methoden.

Die Research Group for Earth Observation (rgeo) ist in diesem Kontext Mitinitiator der jährlichen Treffen des interdisziplinären Arbeitskreises World Heritage Education (WHE), an denen Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Verwaltung und Schule aktuelle Konzepte einer Welterbe-Bildung präsentieren und diskutieren. Zudem haben sich auch Abschlussarbeiten und eine Dissertation zur Bildungsfunktion mit dieser Vermittlungsfunktion beschäftigt.

 

Projektbeginn: 2007
Choose your language: deutschenglish
Kontakt | Anfahrt | Netzwerke | News | Impressum | Intern