Revision of the climate types of the earth  – Design of a didactically justified modular classification scheme using current global climate data sets  

Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund, Dipl.-Geoökol. Daniel Volz

 

The identification of different climates and climate types still has an important significance in many climatic-geographic issues. The majority of classification approaches so far provide all levels of classification rigidly and without a gradual build-up in a climate map, such as in Köppen / Geiger (1928) and Troll / Paffen (1963). Other problems of these approaches arise from a partly outdated technical and methodological foundation and the use of highly obsolete data.

For this reason, a technically-methodologically current and didactically well-founded classification scheme was developed based on an approach of Sigmund (1995), which is based on a modular system. The progressive development of the climate classification can be adapted to the specific user conditions. The classification criteria of the effective classification approach are the three elements temperature, precipitation and potential landscape-evaporation.

Heat and water balance are the most important climate-ecologically relevant indicator of an area. For this reason, the climate classification Siegmund / Frankenberg (2008) identifies five thermal climates that are based on the annual average temperatures on the first classification level. Then the dry-climates of the earth are overlayed, which are separated by an annual rainfall of less than 250 mm. In another two classification levels, the climates are further differentiated based on water and heat balance.

The classification is continually updated and further developed methodically. It is used in different editions of the DIERCKE world atlas and in numerous school books.

 

Climate classification according to Siegmund/Frankenberg on the first classification level with 5 thermal climate zones and the dry climates 

(Source: Siegmund/Frankenberg 2013, Klimakunde – Wetter, Klima und Atmosphäre)

Project start: 2008

 

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Contact | Directions | Networks | News | Imprint

Neubearbeitung der Klimatypen der Erde - Entwurf eines didaktisch begründeten modularen Klassifikationsschemas unter Anwendung aktueller globaler Klimadatensätze

Prof. Dr. Alexander Siegmund, Dipl.-Geoökol. Daniel Volz

 

Dem Ausweis unterschiedlicher Klimazonen und Klimatypen kommt bei vielen klimageographischen Fragestellungen nach wie vor eine wichtige Bedeutung zu. Die Mehrzahl der bisher Klassifikationsansätze stellen sämtliche Gliederungsebenen starr und ohne einen stufenweisen Aufbau in einer Klimakarte dar, wie etwa bei Köppen/Geiger (1928) und Troll/Paffen (1963). Weitere Probleme dieser Ansätze ergeben sich aus zum Teil überholten fachlich-methodischen Grundlagen und der Nutzung stark veralteter Datensätze.

Aus diesem Grund wurde auf Basis eines Ansatzes von Siegmund (1995) ein fachlich-methodisch aktuelles und didaktisch begründetes Klassifikationsschema entwickelt, das auf einem modularen Baukastensystem basiert. Der schrittweise Aufbau der Klimaeinteilung kann dadurch an die spezifischen Nutzerbedingungen angepasst werden. Als Einteilungskriterien des effektiven Klassifikationsansatzes dienen die drei Klimaelemente Temperatur, Niederschlag und potenzielle Landschaftsverdunstung.

Wärme- und Wasserhaushalt stellen die wichtigsten klimaökologisch relevanten Kennzeichen eines Raumes dar. Aus diesem Grund werden bei der Klimaklassifikation nach Siegmund/Frankenberg (2008) auf der ersten Klassifikationsstufe fünf thermische Klimazonen ausgewiesen, die auf den jährlichen Durchschnittstemperaturen basieren. Ihnen werden die Trockenklimate der Erde überlagert, die durch eine jährliche Niederschlagsmenge von weniger als 250 mm abgegrenzt sind. In zwei weiteren Klassifikationsebenen werden die Klimate auf Grundlage des Wasser- und Wärmehaushalts weiter differenziert.

Die Klassifikation wird methodisch kontinuierlich weiter entwickelt und aktualisiert. Sie wird in verschiedenen Ausgaben des DIERCKE Weltatlas und in zahlreichen Schulbüchern verwendet.

 

Klimaklassifikation nach Siegmund/Frankenberg auf der ersten Klassifikationsstufe mit fünf thermischen Klimazonen und den Trockenklimaten

(Quelle: Siegmund/Frankenberg 2013, Klimakunde – Wetter, Klima und Atmosphäre)

Projektbeginn: 2008

Choose your language: deutschenglish
Kontakt | Anfahrt | Netzwerke | News | Impressum | Intern